Everton vs Arsenal: Should Toffees’ goal have been disallowed due to Lucas Digne’s ‘foul throw’ in build-up?
Arsenal supporters were claiming Everton were wrongly awarded their opening goal during Sunday’s Premier League clash at Goodison Park.
The Gunners fell behind on Merseyside in the opening 10 minutes, with Phil Jagielka reacting quickest in the area to prod the ball past Bernd Leno.
Jagielka’s strike continued Arsenal’s remarkable record of failing to keep a single clean sheet away from home throughout the entire 2018/19 season so far.
They are, incredibly, the only team with this unfortunate achievement, despite two top flight sides – Huddersfield and Fulham – already being relegated.
The opening goal at Goodison Park came after a long throw from Lucas Digne caused chaos in the Arsenal area.
LATEST FOOTBALL NEWS
Digne’s delivery was flicked on twice before Jagielka connected just yards from the goal line – but Gunners fans were calling for the strike to be ruled out due to Digne breaking the laws of the game as he took his throw.
An eagle-eyed fan noticed that Digne’s left foot was on the pitch as he took his throw, with the full-back pulling it back behind the touchline as he let go of the ball.
This led to calls that Digne committed a foul throw, which should have been punished by possession being turned over to Arsenal.
So, did Digne make an illegal action in the build-up to Everton’s goal?
The short answer: No.
Though it would appear Digne has overstepped the line (quite literally) when taking his throw, his foot placing was entirely legal as per law 15 (The Throw In) in the IFAB Laws of the Game 2018/19.
The law states that, at the moment of delivering the ball, the thrower must:
- stand facing the field of play
- have part of each foot on the touchline or on the ground outside the touchline
- throw the ball with both hands from behind and over the head from the point where it left the field of play
As can be seen clearly in the above picture, Digne’s left foot is on the touchline, meaning he complies with section two of the law, ‘have part of each foot on the touchline or on the ground outside the touchline’.
So, no… Everton’s opening goal was not illegal and was rightfully awarded.
And, unfortunately for Arsenal, Jagielka’s strike proved to be the winner with Everton holding on to claim a valuable 1-0 win on their own turf.
Source: SportsLatest TS