Liverpool news: Mohamed Salah did NOT dive and deserved penalty against Cardiff, insists Danny Murphy


Liverpool news: Mohamed Salah did NOT dive and deserved penalty against Cardiff, insists Danny Murphy

Former Liverpool midfielder Danny Murphy has insisted Mohamed Salah did not dive and deserved to be awarded a penalty during Sunday’s 2-0 victory over Cardiff.

The Egpytian has come under fire again for this theatrics, after he went to ground in the area under a challenge from Sean Morrison at the Cardiff City Stadium.

Mohamed Salah has again been accused of diving to win a penalty

Bluebirds boss Neil Warnock accused the Reds star of a ‘9.9 dive’ and likened him to Olympic diver Tom Daley.

In truth, Morrison was all over Salah – the Cardiff captain had both his arms around the Liverpool man and stopped him from moving in on goal without even attempting to win the ball.

Murphy has been a vocal critic of Salah’s previous antics and admits the Egyptian ace didn’t have to go to ground in that moment.

However, if he hadn’t, the former Redman says he wouldn’t have been given the penalty he deserved.

Sean Morrison grabs Mo Salah in the penalty area
Prevented from reaching the ball, Salah goes to ground
Morrison attempted to protest his innocence, but the referee pointed straight to the spot

“I think it was a pen,” Murphy told talkSPORT host Jim White on Monday.

“The defender has got to hold his hands up and say he was too tight and was grabbing him to too long.

“If you take away Salah’s previous, I don’t think there are too many strikers on the planet who wouldn’t have ended up on the floor with the amount of contact that was made.

“Grapping a forward continually for that amount of time is always going to end up in a penalty.